Posts Tagged ‘Guide’

The Next New Madrid Earthquake: A Survival Guide for the Midwest

August 4, 2010 - 12:48 am 5 Comments

The Next New Madrid Earthquake: A Survival Guide for the Midwest

New York Photo Guide

August 3, 2010 - 5:25 pm No Comments

  • ISBN13: 9783899445305
  • Condition: New
  • Notes: BUY WITH CONFIDENCE, Over one million books sold! 98% Positive feedback. Compare our books, prices and service to the competition. 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Product Description
Introducing the new Photo Guides series from Monaco Books – highly portable, on-the-spot guides packed with over 400 lavish photographs by leading photographers. This New York Photo Guide provides a wealth of practical information and insider tips, websites for all the top attractions and a dedicated street atlas. This guide features a dedicated highlights section, which is arranged by district to reveal New York’s top sights through a wealth of breathtaking photographs and stimulating background texts. The special double-page features look at key influences focusing on cultural heritage, politics, lifestyle and outstanding personalities. A detailed city explorer provides the visitor with expert knowledge and insider tips on culture, gastronomy, shopping, culture and events, restaurants and local cuisine, bars, shopping, hotels and much more, district by district, covering every aspect of the city, not just the sights but the smells and sounds too. The guided city walks highlight the most scenic routes, all cross-referenced to individual, bespoke maps to help visitors plan their trip. A museums chapter enables readers to discover ‘must-see’ exhibits before leaving home to ensure no ‘treasure’ of interest is overlooked during their visit. A comprehensive timeline gives readers a colourful insight into the historical events that have shaped the city. To complement the book, a dedicated, fully-indexed street atlas aids quick and easy navigation, accompanied with essential addresses, telephone numbers and websites. Overall, this New York Photo Guide truly is a visual travel guide with a difference!

New York Photo Guide

The All-New Switch Book: The Complete Guide to LAN Switching Technology

August 1, 2010 - 2:08 pm 4 Comments

Product Description
This much-needed update to the bestselling guide on the extensive changes to the local area networks (LAN) switching technologies explains why LAN switching technologies are critical to network design. This in-depth guide covers the capabilities, application, and design of LAN switches and switched internetworks and examines the significant changes that have taken place since the publication of the first edition seven years ago. You’re sure to appreciate the witty writing style and easy-to-follow format on such an often-complicated subject matter.

The All-New Switch Book: The Complete Guide to LAN Switching Technology

Photographing New York City Digital Field Guide

July 31, 2010 - 12:41 am 5 Comments

  • ISBN13: 9780470586853
  • Condition: New
  • Notes: BUY WITH CONFIDENCE, Over one million books sold! 98% Positive feedback. Compare our books, prices and service to the competition. 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed

Product Description

Take memorable photos of the most popular attractions in the Big Apple!

Whether using a point-and-shoot or a high-end dSLR, this companion guide provides you with detailed information for taking amazing shots of one of one of the world’s most photographed cities. Whether you aim to capture the regal Empire State Building, vibrant Times Square, historic Grand Central Station, massive Central Park, or one of New York City’s many other landmarks, this portable resource goes where you go and walks you through valuable tips and techniques for taking the best shot possible.

You’ll discover suggested locations for taking photos, recommended equipment, what camera settings to use, best times of day to photograph specific attractions, how to handle weather challenges, and more. In addition, beautiful images of New York City’s most breathtaking attractions and recognizable landmarks serve to both inspire and assist you as you embark on an amazing photographic adventure!

  • Elevates your photography skills to a new level with photography secrets from professional photographer and SmugMug COO, Andy Williams
  • Presents clear, understandable tips and techniques that span all skill levels, using all types of digital cameras, from full-featured compact cameras to high end DSLRs
  • Features New York City’s main attractions in alphabetical order as well as thumb tabs on the pages so you can quickly and easily access the information you are looking for
  • Shares detailed information and insight on critical topics, such as ideal locations to photograph from, the best time of day to shoot, camera equipment to have handy, weather conditions, and optimal camera settings to consider

Whether you’re a local familiar with the territory or a visitor seeing the Big Apple for the first time, this handy guide will help you capture fantastic photos!Amazon.com Review

Take memorable photos of the most popular attractions in the Big Apple!

Whether using a point-and-shoot or a high-end dSLR, this companion guide provides you with detailed information for taking amazing shots of one of one of the world’s most photographed cities. Whether you aim to capture the regal Empire State Building, vibrant Times Square, historic Grand Central Station, massive Central Park, or one of New York City’s many other landmarks, this portable resource goes where you go and walks you through valuable tips and techniques for taking the best shot possible.

You’ll discover suggested locations for taking photos, recommended equipment, what camera settings to use, best times of day to photograph specific attractions, how to handle weather challenges, and more. In addition, beautiful images of New York City’s most breathtaking attractions and recognizable landmarks serve to both inspire and assist you as you embark on an amazing photographic adventure!

  • Elevates your photography skills to a new level with photography secrets from professional photographer and SmugMug COO, Andy Williams
  • Presents clear, understandable tips and techniques that span all skill levels, using all types of digital cameras, from full-featured compact cameras to high end DSLRs
  • Features New York City’s main attractions in alphabetical order as well as thumb tabs on the pages so you can quickly and easily access the information you are looking for
  • Shares detailed information and insight on critical topics, such as ideal locations to photograph from, the best time of day to shoot, camera equipment to have handy, weather conditions, and optimal camera settings to consider

Whether you’re a local familiar with the territory or a visitor seeing the Big Apple for the first time, this handy guide will help you capture fantastic photos!

Tips for Photographing New York City


Be Patient!
New York City can sometimes feel like it is running on fast forward. Everyone is in a hurry and everything is always changing. When you see a shot, don’t be tempted to move on immediately after you capture it. The scene will be completely different in a minute. The image of the Flatiron Building below required almost an hour of patience. I took many shots leading up to this one, capturing this shot with the foreground free of people, some NYC taxis for local feel and no other major distractions.


Plan and Be Prepared
Have a plan and do some research. It will be the difference between good shots and great shots. Going out with a blank slate can be fabulous for street photography, but getting that postcard worthy shot of the city is going to take some prep work. Unless you are already familiar with New York City, bring a city and subway map or a guide who knows the area. Google Street View and Google Earth can be fantastic resources to explore the areas you are visiting. To prepare for the picture below, I used a reference to find the direction the sun would rise on this day and plotted it on Google Maps. I was able to arrive and set up my tripod within a few feet of where I ultimately took this shot in Liberty State Park. Arriving at 5AM, that was greatly preferable to running up and down the 1.5-mile long walkway to find the spot.

Top Five Must-Photograph Places in New York City


Empire State Building or Top of the Rock
An obvious must-visit, the Empire State Building and Top of the Rock observatories provide fantastic views of the city from on high.
Click here for a larger image

St. Patrick’s Cathedral
Right next door to Rockefeller Center, this Neo-Gothic-style cathedral is beautiful inside and out.
Click here for a larger image

Statue of Liberty
One of the most recognizable icons in New York City and the whole US, Lady Liberty can be photographed from Battery Park, Liberty Park, Brooklyn Bridge Park, the Staten Island Ferry, Ellis Island and of course from inside the statue herself.
Click here for a larger image

Central Park
A vast swath of nature in central Manhattan, Central Park contains many fantastic locations to photograph as well as 36 unique bridges.
Click here for a larger image

Guggenheim Museum
Of all the fantastic museums in the city, none are quite the work of art themselves as the Frank Lloyd Wright-designed Guggenheim.
Click here for a larger image

Photographing New York City Digital Field Guide

The New Tea Book: A Guide to Black, Green, Herbal, and Chai Tea

July 30, 2010 - 4:28 am 5 Comments

Product Description
Tea is hot and getting hotter. In the New Tea Book, no leaf is left unturned. Discover the wide variety of teas that are available and their myriad health benefits, as well as over 50 recipes for cooking with tea: beverages, savories, and delectable sweets. This strikingly photographed volume takes readers on a visual journey exploring the riches of black, green, oolong, and herbal teas, from the fragrant, full-bodied Assam to the spirited and spicy Yunnan. An exciting addition is the completely new Personal Spa section, introducing a host of aromatherapy touches for the home with recipes for tea bath sachets, eye pillows, beauty soaps, and potpourris. Finally, a list of resources gives information on where to find interesting tea blends and equipment, not to mention author Sara Perry’s favorite international teahouses. Here’s just the right cup o’ tea.

The New Tea Book: A Guide to Black, Green, Herbal, and Chai Tea

Oz Clarke’s New Essential Wine Book: An Indispensable Guide to Wines of the World

July 29, 2010 - 11:17 am 5 Comments

Product Description
Oz Clarke’s perennial bestseller The Essential Wine Book is one of the most original and diverting wine volumes ever published. Now this conversational encyclopedia of wine, which provides complete coverage of all wine regions of the world, has been revised, updated, and expanded to reflect the latest changes in the fast-developing world of wine.

Clarke’s extraordinary wine-tasting talents and eloquence combine in this beautifully illustrated book to produce a resource for every wine lover, whether a newcomer or a longtime aficionado. With his trademark combination of hard facts and breezy practical advice, Clarke outlines what makes each wine work — what it tastes like, why it’s different from its neighbors, and most important, whether it is worth seeking out.

Each chapter covers a different wine-producing region of the world and includes:

  • A lively introduction to the region, with useful maps

    and a full description of grape varieties cultivated and

    wine styles produced

  • Evocative descriptions of the taste of the region’s wines,

    explanations of how to read the local wine labels,

    evaluations of recent vintages, and recommendations

    for enjoying these wines with food

  • Vintage ratings and tasting notes, along with useful summaries of the value-for-money and availability of specific wine styles

Oz Clarke’s New Essential Wine Book: An Indispensable Guide to Wines of the World

Facebook Revolution – Top 10 Facebook Games Guide

July 27, 2010 - 8:13 am No Comments

Online games as a trend started to emerge after the launch of applications on social networks (facebook, myspace). At the same time, these games’ players had a new need, a need to improve faster than their competitors. This need was the starting point for the development of games’ guides (ebooks), which show players how to advance using the best way possible. The best part about this is that these ebooks have 60 day money back guarantee.

10. Farm Town

Being developed by Slashkey at the beginning of 2009, FarmTown is the Slashkey’s alternative for the highly popular Farmville. The game’s concept is the same as FarmVille’s where you build a farm and do your best to be better than your neightborn.

The ebook provides you with ingenious tricks that allow you to reach level 16 in the first 5 days of playing the game, while giving you a complete tutorial to ensure that you have 100% success in your mission.

The author, T. Dub, is already well-known by the online community for his innovative and quick ways to advance from a beginner to a highly-proficient player in just a few weeks. He has written succesful tutorials for almost all the Facebook games.

9. Restaurant City

If you aren’t already familiar with this game, all you have to do is to build your own restaurant, to decorate it, choose the ingredients for your menus and try to bring in customers. You can expand your business by earning money from them. Last week, I found the official guide for playing RestaurantCity on Playfish website.

Beside that, I also found two ebooks, one titled Restaurant City Mastery wrote by Shawn Woods and the other one called Restaurant City Secrets by T Dub.

As both authors admit, the ebooks were created by carefully studying the best players in the world of Restaurant City. After months of hard work, they managed to create their own step-by-step guides for success. They both vouch for their own version as being the best by allowing you to quickly build your own restaurant, to attract huge numbers of clients and how to manage your business as a PRO.

Common features:

- Price: $29 – 60 days money-back guarantee if you aren’t satisfied by the ebook – Easy-to-follow step-by-step tutorial – Guarantee reaching FAST 50 popularity and 5 stars – 100% LEGAL method – PDF format – Its method is unknown to 99% of the players – It shows you how to reach Level 19 in just 3

8. YoVille

YoVille by Zynga is a game that resembles in many ways to the popular game for PC, The Sims. All begins in your virtual apartament. Your mission is to develop your character and to earn as much money as you can to advance to the next level.

What this e-book guarantees you is that are able to get to level 50 in 3 weeks, 100% legal. The author, T Dub, studied all the successful players of the application to see why they earn money and evolve very rapidly. After having spent months in which he applied various methods to improve his character, he created an extremely profitable technique that helped him make more money than all its competitors.

At first the author interviewed all the successful players and found that the most effective methods are simple. It took 6 months to develop and implement the perfect way to make money, and he says that he came through. He discovered why 93% of the players are choosing the wrong method, found the way to get to level 20 in 3 days and thereby made a step by step manual that shows you how to become a YoVille master.

7. Pet Society

Pet Society is a Tamagotchi version of the game created in 2009 after more than 13 years. The basic idea remained the same, you choose a pet, you create it, you make him look the way you want and then take care of him. The difference between Pet Society and the well known game Tamagotchi is that you have many more possibilities to have fun with your pet. If you take better care of it, you get more points and you evolve faster.

The T Dub’s book teaches you how to invest as little time and earn as many points for your pet.

6. Mafia Wars

For this game, I found 5 books Dominate Mafia Wars written by Jenson Fuller, Mafia Wars Wizard by Vincent Cicinelli, Mafia Sniper by Chris Jones and Mafia Wars Blueprint by T. Dub and Mafia Sniper, which are designed to teach you how to earn more points and become that ‘Godfather’ or ‘Capo di tutti capi’. Because the game appeared for a long time, many gamers have found ways to succeed, but as the authors say, few of them have applied these recipes along the time.

5. Texas HoldEm Poker

The trivial poker game moved online, besides their creations with farms and fish, those from Zynga developed an application dedicated for gaming enthusiasts, the famous Texas Holdem Poker has become a source of entertainment for many users of Facebook.

To develop your skills in this game, I found 2 helpful books Social Hold’em Secrets written by Virgil Tsutsumi and Texas Holdem Secrets by Phillip D. The two writers promise that you will learn how to win 1,000,000 chips in the first day, become a professional player in less than 2 hours, you will learn how to win always chips from the first hand, you will find out what you need to know to keep hackers away and how to become the best bluffer ever.

4. FishVille

Like other applications developed by Zynga, Fishville is not so different, your job is to buy fish, decorate their aquarium, feed them and then sell them. The difference between FishVille and other game type applications for Facebook is that you must take care of fish with regularity. If you don’t feed them or you forget to clean the aquarium, they will die.

For FishVille I found the FishVille Secrets book, which teaches you how to get the best for the time spent in the game. This method shows you how to raise your experience points and your money. The method takes about 2 weeks, then he says, you get to level 34. It also will show you an interesting tutorial on how to build your aquarium and how to earn money and points quickly, even if you are at the beginning.

3. Happy Aquarium

Developed by the ones from CrowdStar, this application is their replica for FishVile game, built by Zynga. The idea is almost the same, you have to take care of an aquarium with fish. I found a book that teaches you how to be successful in this game, written by the well-known author T. Dub, available in electronic format (. pdf) at a price of $27.

The Dub’s book was developed by studying some successful players, and after discovering a successful game strategy. He guarantees that you get to Level 15 in 3 days, only by using the revealed secret from this book, so if you are a fish games enthusiast, it worths trying.

2. Cafe World

The World Cafe application is created by Zynga and is similar to Restaurant City application, created by the ones from Playfish. The idea of this two games is similar, you have to make your own coffee shop and your job is to manage well the resources so you can be able to develop in the shortest time.

The 3 books that I found for this product are: Cafe World Kings offered by Vincent Cicinelli, the second book is titled Cafe World Secrets written by Troy Mitchell and the third book of the Café World Domination written by T Dub.

I found common points in each of these books, the differences between them are, in my opinion, minor. But let’s list some of the promises made by the authors of these books:

- How to convince a lot of neighbors to join your business in just a few hours;

- You can learn how to stop squandering money by buying credits;

- How to apply their method no matter what level you are;

- Discover how to be effective in managing the money;

- Money back in 60 days if you are not satisfied with their product;

- All 3 books are in .pdf format and can be accessed immediately after you pay them.

1. FarmVille

The most famous game on Facebook is called Farmville and was developed by ones from Zynga. If you respect the chronology of the Facebook games, Farmville is the second big success for Zynga after Mafia Wars.

The idea of the game, for the ones who don’t know yet, is very simple, you have to take care of a farm, to grow your harvest, and to produce money with your land.

To develop your Farmville’s ability, we found several e-books. Indeed, in this game are more in number, 8, probably because it has created a great din of the facebook.

Because this game has created such an hysteria on Facebook, we found 8 books: Millionaire Farmer Guide written by Troy Mitchell, Farm Secrets Revealed by Bob, Ultimate Farmville Guide by Eric Moore, Farmville Millionaire Secrets by William Bates, Farm Domination by Rogue Farmer, Farmville Secrets by T Dub, Farmville Wizard by Vincent Cicinelli and FarmVille Expert written by Jason Fitzpatrick.

The common topic of these books is how to develop quickly your farm, earn more money and have more neighbors. The Bob’s e-book promises that you will learn how to develop your farm investing only 15 minutes per day.

About Author
My name is Julia Tyler and I work as a professional game reviewer for ComputerGames.

A New Baby Is Coming!: A Guide for a Big Brother or Sister

July 25, 2010 - 7:13 am No Comments

A New Baby Is Coming!: A Guide for a Big Brother or Sister

The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency: The Classic Guide for Realists and Dreamers

July 24, 2010 - 10:02 am 5 Comments

Product Description
Make the break, realise the dream and start living ‘The Good Life!’ Packed with comprehensive information on all the practicals, from ploughing fields to milking cows, as well as new information on how to create an urban organic garden and harness natural energy. This new and revised full-colour edition of the illustrated classic is an engrossing read and a wonderful handbook for realists and dreamers alike.

The New Complete Book of Self-Sufficiency: The Classic Guide for Realists and Dreamers

The New Bloomsday Book: A Guide Through Ulysses

July 20, 2010 - 12:33 pm 5 Comments

Product Description
The New Bloomsday Book is a crystal clear, line by line running commentary on the plot of James Joyce’s Ulysses which illuminates many symbolic themes and literary structures along the way.

Since 1966, readers new to James Joyce have depended upon this essential guide which makes this intimidating novel accessible. Designed to help the student and the general reader to find their way quickly about Joyce’s formidable novel, The New Bloomsday Book will enable someone approaching Joyce for the first time to reach an understanding of the novel which otherwise might have taken several readings.

“It remains, the only commentary in which paraphrase is largely employed without detriment to one’s sense of the interest of the novel.” –Books Ireland

To ensure that Blamires’ classic work will remain useful to new readers, this third edition contains the page numbering and references to the three most commonly read editions of Ulysses: the Gabler `Corrected Text’ (1986) editions, the Oxford University Press `World Classics’ (1993), and the Penguin `Twentieth-Century Classics (1992).

From the Preface: “Ulysses must not be made to appear more difficult than it is. Joyce’s text is a highly organized one, and it only requires a little attention to the network of thematic linkages which undergirds the work to make the reader feel at home in Joyce’s world.” –Harry Blamires

The New Bloomsday Book: A Guide Through Ulysses